tearlily

A Little of Everything type of Site

Screeching Halt

on May 10, 2017

Well it has been a rough week and a half. When I imagined myself moving, I imagined myself having a great time moving out with my dog. Having some quiet and not having to deal with a lot of things that were going on before.

I moved six hours away to go to school. At first everything was fine moving but then I got into a car accident a week ago. I tried to stop but there was a lot of traffic so I was too close to the car in front of me and I rear-ended the person in front of me. My little Honda got smooshed in the front and the air bag went off. It was horrifying. I had my dog with me and we were trying to go to the dog park I looked up online.

The lady’s car was just dented and she was fine. She was actually quite nice to me and told me it was fine and she had done it before too. I called 911 and we moved our cars over. I called AAA to tow my car, which by the way is great to have because they will tow up to 100 miles for free for me. The police officer was nice as well. I got a ticket for following too closely and the lady took me and my dog home.

Everyone was okay but it was still a horrible time and many tears were shed and are still shed. I felt so alone. I am here alone. My dad was angry because I was six hours away. He is pissed that I moved so far away and wanted me to go to school nearby. I thought moving away on my own would be a good thing for me. It made me want to pack everything back up and move back home, meaning I would quit nursing school here before I even started. Of course I don’t have that option. I have to get through this program even if that means being miserable and alone for the next 15 months. I have already put everything into this. I have done everything to get into the program and have now moved myself and my dog here. There’s no turning back now.

It was strange getting a ride from the lady and was wondering if it was a bad idea the whole time but she had offered and I didn’t have anyone. She was willing to let my dog go home too so it was kind of her but…It was strange. On the way to my apartment she kept making phone calls to people to ask for money. Basically everyone turned her down. She explained to me that she had just started a new job as a bartender and had to pay $40 to get her uniforms and supplies to work but she wouldnt be getting paid from her last job till that Friday. She said she was supposed to meet a friend up to borrow the money from them but because of the accident she took too long and they had to go. It all sounds kind of fishy though. I kept apologizing to her and she said it couldnt be helped and not to worry. She did ask me if I had any money to borrow and she would pay me back Friday. I gave her a 10 dollar bill I had in my wallet and told her for taking us home she could have it and I appreciated her taking me but I don’t have much. She said she would pay me back but I told her it was for the ride. I know my insurance company will pay for all the damages on her car to be fixed and it was just a dent so nothing should be bad on the car.

My poor insurance company…I am keeping that Asian woman driver stereotype alive with my crappy driving ability…

It was a couple days of depression with the crying and feeling bad about everything and for myself and my dog. I felt horrible for dragging my dog along with me into this mess although I know I have always taken care of her. I appreciate her being here with me so much.

My family friend who was my CNA instructor was on the phone with me a lot during this time and she tried to make light of everything. She almost came up here to drive me around and make sure I was okay. I love her like a mother. She is truly kind hearted and loving. I don’t know what I would do without her in my life.

My dad told me to call my insurance company because they are a bank and everything for military. He wanted me to see about a loan for a car and was okay with being on a loan with me. My credit score is higher I than his but I am currently unemployed because I left my job when I moved.  I got a loan for $8750 and looked at cars through the company’s site and they used truecar for their cars. I had a few choices I wanted to see and I had asked the car place I would take my car to before what they recommended and they told me a bunch of the cars I had mentioned were not good choices because they had to replace a lot on them or how expensive it was to fix. They recommended the hyundai elantra I saw. I was going to go see it but then I had called USAA back about the truecar certificate prices and if it was possible to haggle with the dealership about the prices. He said I could haggle with them and helped me look for a good car choice. He found a 2013 Hyundai Accent that had a clean carfax and only 46k mileage. It seemed like a great car choice. It was a hatchback too. I went to see that car first and did end up getting it but I will tell you guys that I am apparently a very tough buyer.

When I got to the place, I had to use uber for the first time, and they handed me off to the new guy because when they looked at me, they thought “easy sell”. haha jokes on them because I was pain in the butt. I looked at the car and saw a lot of issues. I told them the tires needed to be changed for sure, oil changed, needs gas, and there were a lot of dents and scrapes on the car. I said either they would have to lower the cost because of the bodywork or fix it. They kept going back and forth and then I called my dad and he went back and forth with them.  Finally we came up with a good deal. They lowered the cost so that with all the dealership costs and taxes that it was reasonable. They changed the oil, put gas, and changed three of the tires. It took  at least four hours of being there before I could drive off with my new car. They said to bring the car back and drop it off for two days for the bodywork. I dropped it off this morning and am suppose to get it back Friday morning. I told them that there is this annoying sound in the back while I drive. Hopefully they can fix it.

Besides that, things are getting better. I still feel pretty lonely. It helps having my dog with me and we go on walks often. I feel a little bit depressed still but I hope that when school starts next week that it will get better. I hope I meet a lot of new people and make good friends. I have no one here and it would be nicer to have people to go out to the beach, to study with, and to know I am not alone. I know that my goal is to finish the program and become a nurse but I hope that the next 15 months will not be as miserable as the first week and a half.

 

Any tips?

Keep smiling,

D.

3 responses to “Screeching Halt

  1. Sandra says:

    Sounds like you had a tough time, but you made it through. Once school starts you’ll make friends and won’t be lonely anymore. Very good job you have your dog. When I moved to the US from England over 20 years ago I was really lonely for a while, even though my husband and daughter were with me. It was a lonliness deep in my stomach and I don’t even know why. I think things are just different for you and that can make you feel alone. You’ll make friends and soon you’ll be having the best time of your life. Keep a smile and hug your dog! The worst is behind you. Putting it all down in writing must help. Keep writing!

    • TearLily says:

      Thank you Sandra! I have always appreciated hearing from you. I don’t usually go on here often but when I do write something and hear from you it makes me feel much better. I agree with you. Writing everything down does seem to help.

      It must have been tough moving to another country. I can’t imagine how different it is. I have some friends from England who have moved here permanently and although it seems neat to move to someplace so different it is also pretty scary. I know its not forever but at the moment it feels pretty bad. I had a pretty bad day today, having to do with my car purchase being a complete rip off. I will have to write about it. I don’t know how far I should go with the dealership to get my point across. I will explain soon.

      Sandra, you are a wonderful person. Thank you.

      • Sandra says:

        Just remember life is a hard slog sometimes. You are brave and strong, and you’ll get through it. Try not to get too stressed out, it doesn’t fix anything. I know from experience. Hugs and love to you.

Leave a Comment

